Bookmark and Share
Article by: Bhushan Mhapralkar

The award’s recent edition took stock of the contribution made by transporters to the diverse Indian transport sector.

The 4th edition of the Mahindra Transport Excellence awards was held at Delhi on February 15, 2015. Drawing the who’s who of the Indian road transport sector, the awards honoured various outperforming personalities in the sector in an effort to recognise their contribution. Based on parameters like performance, excellence, innovation and leadership, the awards attracted 2,300 entries (with multiple case studies for different categories) – 20 per cent more than last year. The two new categories, spares retailers and the safety category (for hazardous and non-hazardous goods), were introduced at the behest of Ministry of Road Transport and Highways (MoRTH), which extended its support to the awards for the second consecutive year. The event, which saw the giving away of awards in 36 categories, began with a panel discussion chaired by Sanjay Bandopadhayaya, Joint Secretary, Government of India, MoRTH. Members included Jasjit Sethi, CEO, TCI Supply Chain Solutions, Prof. G Raghuram, Dean of Faculty, IIM (Ahmedabad), V L Patankar, Director, IAHE, Dr. Manoj Singh, Advisor, Niti Ayog, Gaurav Karnik, Partner – Tax and Regulatory Services, Ernst and Young LLP, and Sourabh Rohilla, Deputy Director, SIAM. The topic of discussion was, ‘Is India Ready for Global Road Transport Practices and Role of Road Transport in Multi-modal Transport Solutions.’

Addressing the gathering, Nalin Mehta, MD and CEO, Mahindra Truck and Bus Ltd. (MTBL), reiterated his company’s commitment to continue, strengthen and make more relevant, the awards initiative. Bharat Rajamani, Director and Solution Champion – Marketing and Advertising Risk Services, provided the Ernst and Young certification for fairness and transparency to the initiative. Expressed Anand Mahindra, CMD, as commendable the initiative to educate truck driver’s girl child under the Saarthi Abhiyaan. 

Drawing attention to 1,000 scholarships given in FY15, and another 1,000 scholaships which will be given out in FY16, Mahindra said, “In a small way, this will lead to the transformation of the mindset towards women folk; especially the girl child.” Chief guest, Road Transport and Highway Minister Nitin Gadkari averred that his ministry plans to construct 30 km of highways per day to boost Indian road transport network. Stressing upon the modernisation of RTO procedures towards toll permits and vehicle registrations, the minister announced that in the future no trucker will have to visit RTO or get stuck at toll, which will increase his or her productivity. Gadkari emphasised upon environment friendly fuel options and technologies.

While Rhenus Logistics, Dinesh Roadlines and Globe Ecologistics bagged the most coveted awards introduced for the first time, prominent CV Financiers like ICICI and AXIS Bank took away the top honours in their category. Lady ‘dhaba’ owner, Ravinder Kaur, got a standing ovation for her exemplary contribution towards truckers on NH-2 by extending state-of-the-art food and rest care facilities. As ‘Super Outperformer Driver of the Year’, Kumaraswamy and Thanarasu won a brand new Truxo 25. Eight winners among fleet owners received awards in the four categories based on load applications. In his speech, Dr. Pawan Goenka, ED and President, AFS, Mahindra, highlighted MTBL’s contribution towards knowledge, and about initiatives like MPower, War Room and Mentors Summit, which are the signature properties with IIM, Ahmedabad, as the knowledge partner. In the presence of lady trucker, Yogita Raghuvanshi, LPG transporter from North East, Hema Prava Devi, bagged the ‘Lady Transport Personality of the year’ award. Vikrant Kapoor of M/s. Kapoor Diesels bagged the ‘Youth Transport Personality of the year’. Given away for the first time in the history of this initiative, the lifetime achievement award went to D P Agarwal, Vice Chairman and Managing Director of TCI Ltd. His son and joint MD of the company, Chander Agarwal, received the award on behalf of D P Agarwal. 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

AlphaOmega Captcha Classica  –  Enter Security Code