E-way bill implementation from April

on-duty government trucks copy

Starting April 01, 2018 the inter-state goods movement for worth more than Rs.50,000 will have to follow the e-way bill mechanism. After the assessment of the response for inter-state goods movement across few weeks, the e-way bill will be introduced in phases across four to five states every week. Post the implementation of GST regime in July last year, the mandate of carrying the e-way bill could not take off amidst non-readiness of IT network. As many as 15 states mandated the e-way bill when the implementation date was set for February 01, 2018. However, the system crashed due to technical glitches and the billing procedure could not take off. Sushil Kumar Modi, heading a panel of ministers formed to oversee GST system implementation, has affirmed that three rounds of load testing will happen at NIC (responsible for maintenance of the system) before the system takes off. With as many as 25-50 lakh e-way bills expected to be registered per day, and for the number to rise as much as 75 lakh, the simplification of GST return is necessary. With various issues like allowance of provisional credit and linking of credit with tax payment, GST council has already dumped the earlier system of quarterly filing of GST returns. Work is on to arrive at newer models.

E-way bill gets 25,000 registrations

Picture 006 copy

The e-way bill has attracted close to 25,000 registrations claim industry sources. They draw attention to the e-way bill portal receiving over 21,000 new registrations on the first day of the system opening registrations. The registrations are reflective of the enthusiastic response the taxpayers and transporters have shown towards the system. Expected to rise much beyond the 25,000 mark till date, the e-way bill mechanism, under GST, was assigned by GSTN to the National Informatics Centre (NIC). A dedicated infrastructure for e-way bills under GST has been put in place by the NIC. A capacity to process 40 lakh e-way bills per day has been put in place. The e-way bill is mandatory for every inter-state movement of goods beyond 10 km with a value of Rs.50,000 and above from February 01, 2018.